comment 0

Mimi & Iso’s 2015 Manifesto

manifesto defn

I’ve been inspired to write a manifesto for 2015 by Be Leaderly.  I hope by declaring my intentions to the universe that this will focus me.  So here it goes:

Where I am:

I believe in improvement.

I’ve really come to understand in 2014 that you need to keep improving.  There is never a time where you’ve done your best and that’s enough for the rest of your life.  You can’t rest on your laurels. It’s a horrible idea.  Just because you reached a goal, doesn’t mean your done.  I learned this the hard way.  I made this face when I figured that one out.

Future me is so smart.

I want to live in a world where memories are more important than things.

Don’t get me wrong I love stuff as much as the next person.  It’s convenient and fun, but it’s not going to make me happy in the long run.  My family is fairly young.  Nini just turned 10 and Parker is 4.

My Littles

My Littles

I don’t want them to think that owning a lot of things will make them happy.  I want them to enjoy the experiences in life.  I’m hoping to enforce this by doing at least a monthly activity with them, that has nothing to do with a TV, computer, or tablet.

What I know for sure is no one knows what they are doing…they are just winging it.

The big epiphany for me this year.  My parents had no clue what they were doing when I was younger.  My husband and I were disciplining our children one day and we really had no clue what to do.  Obviously we had to do something, but what was the right course of action…

Hell if we know.

So its good to keep in mind that everyone is in the same boat.  We are all just winging it.  So next time you’re in a situation remember this, maybe you’ll be a little more forgiving.

Where I want to be:

I’ve chosen three major goals to focus on this year.

  1. Improving our finances
  2. Understanding were my health is
  3. Finish projects

To reach help with Goal 1, my husband and I started using a new budgeting program called You Need A Budget.  So far it’s been great.  We’ve only been using it for about a week, but already I can see improvements.  The program is very user friendly and interactive.  We’ve always had a budget, but it was something that was updated every pay period. This program also has an app so that you can update as you go.  That way I know what Andrew is spending and vice versa, so we don’t use money that is already accounted for.

For Goal 2, I got a Fitbit Flex.  It’s a device that you wear on your wrist that tracks: steps, sleep,  and calories burned.  It also has an app that you can record calories consumed and will link to other calorie tracking programs you might already be using.  I know I’m not the healthiest I can be right now.  So my current approach is to be in the exploration stage.  I’m collecting data on where I stand and researching things that will give me lasting results.  I want to find things that I won’t mind doing and might love.  I have had several friend lead healthier lifestyles, because they found their “thing”.  I’m going to try a lot of new things to find my “thing” this year.

Goal 3 will be the hardest.  Not because I can’t finish projects, but because I always have so many ongoing ones.  To achieve this goal I am going to focus on one project at a time.  I will also not start new projects without finishing old ones.

So here’s what I’ll be doing this year.  Hopefully I have inspired you to maybe write your own manifesto.  If you have any tips on helping me reach my goals please leave a comment.  I need all the help I can get.

Thanks in advance,

Mimi

Leave a Reply

