comment 0

My Knitting Learning Curve: what NOT to do

As I was searching for some post bling I crossed this little gem.

This a wardrobe need. I have a zombie apocalypse thing, which you will all learn about soon enough. I get easily distracted.

Back to the original post.

Sometime between Black Friday and Christmas I decided to pick up knitting. This may have been due to the great sale Joann’s was having at the time or that my sister-in-law Squishy already does crochet so I wanted to try something new.  Background info:  Squishy tried to teach me crochet. I sucked, despite her best efforts.  So I picked up a knitting book, some yarn, a set of needles, and a rolling storage tote.  So the stage was set.

Fast forward to January. I decide to start on my project. I choose a pattern, pull out some yarn and that’s where all my problems began.  Here’s what I did and you should NOT do in list form.

Picking Yarn Based on Color

It’s wrong to pick yarn based on color.  You need to pick yarn is based on the pattern and reading the specifications… is kind of an art.  A great resource was this infograph

Stare at Diagrams Until Your Crossed Eyed

It starts out more like a confusion.

Then,  I decide maybe if I stare long enough it might become clear like one of those magic puzzles.

Please say you guys remember Mallrats

In the end when I have tried my hardest I look like this.

I’m so glad YouTube is a thing.  New Stitch a Day has great tutorials.

Buy Embroidery Needles When You Need Yarn Needles

So there is a difference between needles.

SAMSUNG CSC

Notice the differences

 

Even with all those problems I was able to  produce this.

My little monster

My little monster

Let’s not forget where we began

Try 1:  I got so mad I just cut the strings.

Try 1: I got so mad I just cut the strings.

Try 2:  I noticed all the mistakes, but kept going anyway.

Try 2: I noticed all the mistakes, but kept going anyway.

But look at what I have to compare myself to.

Here's another it was too cute not to post

A Squishy Masterpiece

I’m sure I’ll learn mores stuff on the way that I can share, that’s it for now.  PLEASE share any tips or resources. I’ve love to learn from someone else’s mistakes.  For your parting gif…TeeHee I’m so punny.

I need to watch this show.

Leave a Reply

